Meet the Team: Clayton Micallef

Clayton Micallef

This week it is the turn of Clayton Micallef: one of twins, father, all-round whiz and the handyman for Frank Salt Real Estate’s Interiors Division in Malta. There seems to be nothing he cannot fix with his hands and he has spent years as a football player prior to starting with the group. Football is his life-long passion and with his years of experience in “the beautiful game” he is currently giving back by sharing his knowledge and experience through coaching enthusiastic youngsters and future stars at Birkirkara F.C.

Straight-forward and a man of no nonsense, Clayton is unphased by the hype of social media and also professes that he can easily get along without his smart phone, unlike the rest of us! We just had to find out more about this unconventional man, so read on…

"The fact that it is always changing and gives me the opportunity to meet different people from different backgrounds and cultures"

Who is the person we know as Clayton? Tell us in about a 100 words!

I am 38 years old and I live in Marsaskala and work as a handyman/electrician. I am a very patient person (until I am tested) and hardworking. I consider myself to be outgoing, honest and kind. I love animals, especially dogs, even though I do not own one! My favourite breed is the British Bulldog and I am fascinated by sharks. I have been to a shark dive in the past and can’t wait for my next one. I also love travelling.

What can you share with us about your background and your family?  

I have a twin brother but we have nothing in common; neither in character nor in looks. The only interest we share is a passion for sports even though we love different disciplines. I am married and have a 19-year old daughter.

Do you have any favourite charities or causes and if so, what are they? 

I admire and respect the work done by Appogg, the foundation for social welfare services. One cannot imagine what the needs are of so many families on our small island and I am not referring to financial needs but social needs. Appogg does a great job with these families.

Tell us about something that you are passionate about besides family… 

Football is my passion. I played football from a young age with Floriana Youth Academy and with the national team for several years. I then moved to several other clubs and in my last year as a player I was motivated enough to start coaching young boys and have been doing this for the past 6 years. At present I am a football coach with Birkirkara F.C.

Clayton Micallef

Are you a fan of sport, sporting events and if so, which ones?

I support Manchester United. During my free time I like to go cycling, jogging and diving. I also like to enrol in events like obstacle races and short marathons… even though I do not have time for training! 

Tell us about your past work experience… 

My previous job was as a printer at DeLaRue Currency and Security.

What attracted you to join the Frank Salt Team? 

I enjoy working as a handyman because it does not keep me static in one place for long. I love doing manual work and meeting new people and most importantly, Frank Salt Real Estate understands and respects my commitment towards football.

What is your favourite food? Have you ever tried to make it yourself? 

I like shellfish and meat. I make both as I love to cook during my free time.

If you were an inventor, what would you invent or be working on at present? 

I will work on a system designed to avoid or decrease traffic.

What do you enjoy the most about your job? 

The fact that it is always changing and gives me the opportunity to meet different people from different backgrounds and cultures.

Which film have you seen over and over again and enjoyed every time?  

‘Braveheart’ and ‘Gladiator’.

What would you do if had enough money and did not need to work? 

I will travel around the world!

If you had a disagreement with an old friend, do you reconcile the friendship, or do you forgive and forget… or do you never speak again? 

Depending on the situation, but I think I will forgive and forget.

Clayton Micallef

Tell us about a favourite childhood memory!

One of my best memories is how we used to meet with friends and play in the fields which today have all been built over with blocks of apartments.

Imagine you are at karaoke night. What song will you be singing and will someone sing with you?

Oh definitely ‘Sweet Caroline’, along with my friends!

Have you ever eaten something strange or unusual? If so, what?

No, because I was convinced otherwise by my friends and now I regret it.

Is there a favourite toy from your childhood that you wish you kept?

No, not really.

Is there anything you hate doing and if so, why? Would you go as far as paying someone to do it?

It has to be washing my car… but I do not trust anyone else to do it for me!

Are you competitive? What do your friends think? If you came second in a race, would you sulk or be OK with it?

Yes I am competitive with anyone who is in turn competitive towards me. I don’t mind coming second, third or even fourth….as long as I took part and enjoyed myself!

Clayton Micallef

If you did not live in Malta, where would you see yourself? 

I could definitely live in either New Zealand or Thailand.

Give us the best piece of advice you will share with a younger person just starting out in life… 

Always look ahead and never look back!

If you had a warning label attached to you, what would it say? 

This is an easy one: Don’t test my patience!

What do you think are the main ingredients for a good party? T

he right music and a fired-up crowd!

Can you get along without your mobile phone for a weekend?…. and whatever the answer, elaborate! 

Yes, unless I am alone. I am not a frequent user of my mobile phone and I also do not make use of social media a lot. I can easily live without my phone!

If you could be a superhero, what would be your superpower? 

To become invisible!

What motivates you to keep going? 

Definitely my family.

What will you do if you had a time machine? 

I will go back 25 years to be able to play football again.

    Some interesting facts about Clayton we’d like to share:

    • What is your star sign: Aquarius.
    • What is your favourite beverage? Coffee, tea, soft drinks…?: Whisky!
    • Morning person or a night owl: Morning person.
    • Favourite month: December.
    • What age would you choose…. if you could be that age forever? 22
    • Idea of a fantastic night out: I make to most of every outing and try to enjoy myself in ever situation.
    • Restaurant sit-down meal or delivery/takeout: I prefer going to a nice restaurant.